Please be advised that effective March 1, 2015 all professional engineers licensed in Florida will be required to obtain a total of eighteen (18) continuing education (CE) course hours in order to renew their licenses. These requirements are officially in effect for the 2015-2017 biennial renewal.
Of the 18 hours, one (1) hour must be related to the Florida laws and rules of professional engineers, one (1) hour must relate to Florida professional ethics, and the remaining 16 hours can relate to any topic pertinent to the practice of engineering.
Up to four (4) hours of the continuing education course hours may be obtained by serving as an officer for a Board-recognized professional or technical engineering society. The required hours relating to Florida law, rules and ethics may also be earned by a PE serving as a member of the Legislature or as an elected state or local official.
Continuing education hours may be earned by presenting or attending seminars, in-house or non-classroom courses, workshops, or professional or technical presentations made at meetings, webinars, conventions, or conferences, including those presented by vendors with specific knowledge related to the licensee’s area of practice. Pursuant to Rule 61G15-22.011, F.A.C., only BOARD-APPROVED providers may offer continuing education courses and credit. To qualify as a BOARD-APPROVED provider, a provider applicant must:
- Submit an application to FBPE for approval to provide continuing education courses; or
- Be registered as a continuing education provider with the Registered Continuing Education Program (RCEP) of the American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC).
To submit an application for continuing education provider status go to the Provider Application Process & Renewal page under this section or CLICK HERE.
Refer to F.S. 471.017 and Chapter 61G15-22 for a full description of the changes related to continuing education requirements for licensed engineers. You can view the statute in its entirety by going to the Statutes and Rules page under the Legal section of our website or CLICK HERE.
Continuing Education Record Retention Rule for Licensees
Rule 61G15-22.008, Record Keeping, Florida Administrative Code, states that engineer licensees are responsible for maintaining sufficient records demonstrating completion of qualifying professional development hours for at least two licensure cycles four (4) years.
(2) The licensee shall retain such receipts, vouchers, certificates, or other papers as may be necessary to document completion of the continuing education pursuant to an audit for four years from the date of completion of the continuing education activity."
Any person who was licensed as a Florida PE by examination during a current biennium shall be exempt from continuing education. However, the licensee is required to pay the renewal fee. If licensure was achieved in the State of Florida by Endorsement (Comity) during a current biennium, the licensee shall be required to complete all continuing education requirements and pay the renewal fee. (See continuing education requirements outlined in this section.)
Additionally, the FBPE will not be providing instructions for using the DBPR reporting tool. With the commencement of the CE audit following renewal in 2013, CE providers are no longer required to report CE credits for engineers. Since some providers have elected to report and others have not, it has caused a great deal of confusion for licensees. Therefore, FBPE prefers that no providers report CE credits using the DBPR reporting tool but continue to provide certificates to licensees as required by rule. If selected for an audit of CE, the licensee will provide the appropriate certificate to FBPE.
If you have any questions regarding CE provider renewal, please feel free to contact Nancy Wilkins at (850) 521-0500 ext. 113 or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.